What keeps you from making time for writing?

Here’s what keeps me from writing:

6:30 a.m.-7:45 a.m. Wake up and get self, husband, and toddler ready for the day

7:45 a.m.-8:10 a.m. Drive toddler to daycare

8:10 a.m.-8:20 a.m. Extract self from daycare

8:20 a.m.-8:30 a.m. Drive to work

8:30 a.m.-5 p.m. Work, with 1/2 hour break for lunch

5:05 p.m.-5:15 p.m. Drive to daycare

5:15 p.m.-5:35 p.m. Coax toddler to car

5:35 p.m.-6:05 p.m. Drive home

6:05 p.m.-8:00 p.m. Make and eat dinner, go for walk with family, clean up kitchen, bathe toddler and put him to bed

8:00 p.m.-10:30 p.m. Watch television, talk to husband, check Facebook, write blog, pay bills

10:30 p.m.-10:45 p.m. Get ready for bed

10:45 p.m. Go to sleep

Sure, there’s room for writing in that 8 to 10:30 period. But by that point in the day, I’m often gablosted and just want to veg.

Tonight I wrote for an hour and a half or so, because my husband cracked the whip. Surprise, surprise, I feel much happier than I do on the nights when I don’t write (which is most nights).

So, wanna play my misery poker and tell me what keeps you from writing? Or better yet, share your tips for carving out the time to write. I’ll share some things that have worked for me in a future post.

6 thoughts on “What keeps you from making time for writing?

  1. Sarah

    If only we didn’t have to check Facebook and blog!

    I hear you, I’m gablosted at 8 pm too. (Or 8:30, by the time all the bedtime stalling antics are done.)

    But I also agree about feeling better when you make time for creativity. I’m not creative-writing right now, but I have managed to do a (LITTLE) bit of crafty stuff recently, and the crazy thing is, just making time for that actually makes me LESS anxious about all my other to-dos.

    Probably the one thing that could get me to write is if I could use it as a procrastination tactic to avoid paying bills.

    Reply
  2. Andy Trask

    No toddler (as you know), but otherwise this scedule looks kind of familiar. So I made one small shift:

    5:30-6:30 – Get up, caffeinate, write for an hour.
    8:00-9:30 – TV, QT with wife.
    9:30-9:45 – Get ready for bed.
    9:45 Zzzzzzzzzzzzzz

    Getting up earlier hurts for a week. But then I’m giving my best, least distracted time to writing.

    Reply
  3. equotah Post author

    I’ve tried the getting up earlier, Andy, and it never worked. But I haven’t tried recently, and I’ve been contemplating giving it another shot. Does your wife get up with you, and does that help your resolve?

    Reply
  4. Andy Trask

    Some days she does; many days she doesn’t. What really helps the resolve is knowing that that’s the best writing time I get. After about a week of doing it, I actually started to look FORWARD to getting up. A few weeks later, I didn’t really think about it one war or another.

    Reply
  5. Richard Peabody

    LOL. Too true. My kids didn’t sleep through the night until one was 5 and the other 7. Good luck with this. We all have similar lists I’m sure. Just endless. I often work by collapsing with them at bedtime, napping for 1-3 hours, and then getting up and working until about 2am. I then get 5 more hours of sleep before school and lunches and breakies. And then I drive them to school. My wife travels for work now 3-4 months out of the year. She works a 60-hr week. I don’t know how anybody stays married in this town.

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Five Tips: Things I, One Reader, and One Published Author Have Done to Make Time for Writing « Firstborn Literary Child

Leave a Reply

